“You’re fired”

I haven’t set foot on U.S. soil in almost a year, but that doesn’t change the fact that I hold an American passport or that I’m an American citizen. And English people seem to like to remind me of this fact. I move across an entire ocean, but the only conversation topics available to me seem to revolve around “the Donald.”

From my peers to my tutors to the man serving me at McDonald’s, everyone wants to know my opinion on the president of my home country. And believe me, I have a lot of opinions– probably more than you want to hear. But for now, I’ll stick to my opinions on the latest to come out of Washington: the firing of FBI chief James Comey.

Now, I don’t want to sound like some tinfoil hat wearing conspiracy theorist, but I can’t help feeling like this whole situation is a little shady. I wouldn’t say I’m surprised that Trump fired Comey. In fact, a lot of people were expecting him to do it as soon as he came into office. But it’s the timing of this all that makes things seem less than kosher.

In the midst of an investigation regarding ties to the current presidential administration and Russia, firing the director of the FBI seems mighty suspicious. Especially given that a letter sited in the reasoning for firing Comey was from Attorney General Jeff Sessions. If you don’t remember, Jeff Sessions was under speculation for being in contact with Russian officials during the 2016 presidential election.

No one can say with certainty that this dismissal of Comey is a cover up. But what I can say is that under the circumstances, it does raise a lot of eyebrows. Who is going to investigate possible Russian ties with the Trump administration now? It can’t be someone Trump himself picks, that person would doubtfully be impartial.

It’s a confusing time, and no one can tell you what to think. In fact, I’m not sure what to think myself. The situation certainly seems fishy to me, but I don’t want to believe that the president of the United States is intertwined with an elaborate cover up. I’m no fan of Trump, but I want to have hope for my country.

So all we can do for now is wait and see. Who knows what kind of new information will pop up from James Comey. Maybe it was just bad timing on Trump’s part, or maybe there’s something bigger happening.

Elise Fritts

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

